REFORC Book Award 2023, Call for Submissions

01 November 2022

The call for submissions for the REFORC Book Award 2023 is open! Submissions are welcome by March 1, 2023.


  • The content of the book is related to Early Modern Christianity (1400-1700).
  • Publications are written in English, French, or German.
  • Books are written by a single author and are published in 2022.

Criteria for Selection

  • Originality of topic and research.
  • Methodological and literary quality.
  • Presentation of new insights.
  • Academic and social relevance.


Publishers or authors are invited to send three hard copies of the book to the President of the Board of REFORC: Prof. Dr. Herman J. Selderhuis, c/o Theological University of Apeldoorn, Wilhelminapark 4, 7316 BT Apeldoorn, the Netherlands, before March 1, 2023.

All submitted books will be presented on REFORC’s website and social media.


The Board of REFORC decides on the prize-winning book. The decision is based on the evaluation of a committee of three REFORC board members and is final.

Prize REFORC Book Award 2023

The author of the selected book will receive € 1000 and a certificate.

Winner Announcement REFORC Book Award 2023

At the Twelfth Annual REFORC Conference on Early Modern Christianity, May 11-13, 2023 in Leuven.

Previous Winners

2022: Martin Christ, Biographies of a Reformation. Religious Change and Confessional Coexistence in Upper Lusatia, 1520-1635
2021: Els Agten, The Catholic Church and the Dutch Bible. From the Council of Trent to the Jansenist Controversy (1564–1733)
2020: Paolo Astorri, Lutheran Theology and Contract Law in Early Modern Germany (ca. 1520-1720)
2019: Liesbeth Corens, Confessional Mobility and English Catholics in Counter-Reformation Europe
2018: Chiara Bertoglio, Reforming Music. Music and the Religious Reformations of the Sixteenth Century